Shin's Resume

Created: August 26, 2019

Updated: October 3, 2020

Who Is This Guy?

OBJECTIVE:

No, I don't want a job. I'm happily retired. I just thought it might be nice to let y'all know who I am and what I've been. This will be fun and somewhat weird to write.

EDUCATION:

1957 - 1963

1963 - 1966

 

 

1966 - 1969

 

 

1969 - 1973 

1974 - 1976

1986 - 1988

Harlan Elementary School, Birmingham, MI

No diploma earned, but they passed me on.

Derby Jr. High School, Birmingham, MI

Again, no diploma. Who knew that 9th grade would count toward my GPA? Pity. It's now Derby Middle  School.

Seaholm High School, Birmingham, MI

Somehow I passed. I have the diploma to prove it, not that anyone cares once you get two college  degrees. I finished with a 2.2 GPA, a classic underachiever.

Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, MI

BS, Psychology major, Sociology minor. I turned things around here, with a GPA somewhere around 3.6. It turned out that studying, doing homework, and reading books and stuff actually helped. Again, who knew? Sociology? It made sense at the time.

Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

MBA, concentration in Personnel Administration. I don't remember my GPA but it was pretty good. I actually started at Bowling Green State University in Ohio, but decided that pursuit of a PhD in experimental social psychology wasn't for me. I was there for about two months. I saw a horrible job  market for psych majors, so I went back to Eastern to take some business classes. I went up to MSU in   the fall of 1975 and between EMU and MSU wound up taking eight straight terms of classes. 

UC Berkeley Extension, San Francisco, CA

SF State University, San Francisco, CA

Lots of computer classes. Took a leave of absence to start on a masters in Business Information Systems, but neither my heart nor my wallet was in it. But it got me a job in computers. Mission accomplished.

JOBS:

Early Years

College Years

 

 

1977 - 1980

1980 - 1988

1988 - 2005

1965 - 2018

 

2018 -

Paper Boy (1 year)

Lawn and Misc. Maintenance (at my dad's nursing home business, summers & weekends)

Pizza Delivery

Factory Labor (Martini Tool & Die, 

Undergraduate Assistant

Dishwasher (One summer)

Supply Clerk (GM Tech Center, half-year)

Graduate Assistant (2 months, Bowling Green State University)

Personnel Rep. (Chrysler)

Personnel Rep. (PG&E)

Analyst / Programmer (PG&E)

Musician in several bands (Notably the Stolen Moments, Warehouse, Hawks and Doves, the 'Burbs, Earl Oliver and Friends, the John Richardson Band, Void Where Prohibited.)

Retiree

Yeah, this is the life. Lots of work as a volunteer and still play in my church band, Joyful Noise. 

I Am:

Born:      

Church:  

               

Politics:    

Relationship: 

BASICS:

Family:         Parents - deceased

                     2 sisters (deceased), brother and family

Residences: Michigan - 29 years (Birmingham,                                                      Ypsilanti, East Lansing) 

                     California - the rest (Salinas, Kensington)

FACTOIDS:

Name: I was called by my middle name for the first twelve years of my life. There are still some holdouts. I wish they'd stop. Lots of people call me "Shin" for obvious reasons. At Eastern Michigan, I had the nickname "Jose" (after Feliciano). I've been called other things that I won't go into here.

Music: I've always played stuff though I never had the self discipline to play at a high level. My roots were classical then folk, then rock and roll. I consider myself an eclectic. My principle noisemaker is guitar, but through the years I've annoyed people with bass, clarinet, oboe, flute, tenor and alto sax (my current infatuation) banjo, harmonica, keyboards and perhaps most annoying of all, singing.

Diet: Formerly vegan, but eat fish, eggs, ice cream and other such indiscretions.. Man may not live by bread alone, but if we relied on vegan cheese we'd likely go extinct in about five months.

Exercise: Occasionally golf and bicycle. More strenuous stuff tends to lead to pain.

John Graham Shinnick II

March 3, 1951, Detroit, Michigan

Unitarian 

formerly Presbyterian and Congregationalist

Liberal (flaming)

None (Never married)